By Dallas Jensen

The Art of Telling an Adventure Story

For about three years now I have been writing "The Adventures of Me & My Shadow" adventure stories about my travels in my old GMC Motorhome. Many people tell me they enjoy reading them. This was a surprise to me as I am a mechanic, not a writer. I only wanted to write a travel log to let my children and friends know where I was and what I was doing. Recently it was hinted that I might be asked to hold a seminar on how to write an adventure story. This started me thinking about just what makes my stories interesting to other people and how to pass this technique to them. If you have not read "The Adventures of Me & My Shadow" go to:
www.meandmyshadow.homepage.com.

My story telling began a long time ago to get my kids to go to sleep when they were little. I would lay down in bed with them, turn out the lights and tell them an adventure story about a little girl or boy about the same age as they were. My problem was in making the story too suspenseful. They would be lying there wide awake, and I would be the first to go to sleep. Then they would poke me and say, "What happened then, Dad", and I would wake up and try to remember where the little girl or boy was and what he or she was doing before I fell asleep. So if you are going to write a bedtime story for a child, make it boring so they will fall asleep before you do.